Corporate Policy

Quality and Tradition

The company Georg Lemke GmbH & Co. KG can look back on over a decade of tradition in the manufacture of nougat, raw marzipan and apricot kernel paste, filling creams and other products such as processed almonds or hazelnuts. Since its founding in 1902, our company has continued to further develop its philosophy according to increasing responsibilities we have had to our customers and the environment. 

 

The company sees its customers as the center of all its efforts. The company offers its customers a quality standard at the highest level, so that the needs of all customers can be met. Our superior quality is reflected in the satisfaction of our customers and is the most important prerequisite for economic success. 

 

Transparency in the processes is a prerequisite for a smooth production and the timely delivery of the product. By monitoring the process parameters, negative occurrences can be minimized or eliminated, so that the specifications that are based upon various recipes can be maintained. A rapid response has a positive effect on the cost structure and, ultimately, the competitive capability of the product. 

 

An important aspect is the interdisciplinary cooperation of all departments. We devise our processes under the premise of optimal customer value, analyze critical events without being asked, create solutions and consolidate them with all relevant departments before implementing them. The goal of all efforts is the highest possible customer satisfaction, as well as reducing non-conformity costs, by optimizing and having a firm grasp of the ongoing processes in all areas. 

 

Regarding the international procurement of our raw materials, we work only with those suppliers and service providers who take it on themselves to heed humane, safe and productive working conditions. Basically, we tend to prefer suppliers who produce under the aspect of sustainability (the use of a regenerative system). 

 

Specifically, the following criteria are met: 

  • Compliance with statutory working hours and wage payments

  • The prohibition of child labor and forced labor and discrimination against employees

  • Payment of eligible benefits for sickness and pregnancy

  • The representation of workers' interests in accordance with legal provisions

  • Occupational safety and health, emergency care, and compliance with safety regulations

  • Appropriate hygiene requirements for decent accommodations for the workers

  • The prohibition of enacting mental and physical disciplinary measures

  • The announcement of the standards in the local language

  • Consideration of the ETI Base Code

  • Consideration of the ILO-Convention

The concept of sustainability includes ecological, economic, as well as social aspects. The economic sector should be expressed not so much in the monetary situation, but rather in the efficiency of the utilization of raw materials. Sustainable development, is, put simply, the reduction of resource consumption to a level where it does not exceed the environment's capabilities of regeneration. Here are the three dimensions of ecology, economy, and social issues interrelated. 

 

A concrete step on our part is the acquisition of the membership of the RSPO (Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil) and the associated purchase of certified palm oil and palm kernel oil. Sustainability requires a move away from fossil fuels in our food and farming. We are also UTZ-certified for cocoa since 2014, which is just another step to achieve a more responsible use of resources. By the middle of the century, we need a reduction in CO2 emissions by 80-90%. Successful economy is increasingly defined by the fact that it deals with resources economically and efficiently. It is also about guaranteeing the future for subsequent generations. 

 

The idea of product safety is ensured by proper application and ongoing maintenance of our HACCP concept, as well as of our quality management system, which was built according to DIN EN ISO 9000 ff., and has been certified according to IFS guidelines since 2009. 

 

The integrated crisis management and the Lemke crisis manual, in which all the responsibilities and competencies are covered, ensure targeted steps in the case of a critical situation. Potential damage, both for the customer as well as for the company, can thus be minimized or eliminated. 

 

All the employees of our company are involved in the ongoing process of quality improvement. In doing so, the management level takes on the stance as role model in order to motivate all employees in the process of quality improvement. 

 

Made possible through information and training, the management committee is dedicated to ensuring that the quality-management system is known, lived by, and implemented in the work place by every employee. Regular inspection and adjustment will be implemented through continuous performance reviews. 

 

By the acceptance of the Ethical Base Code it is ensured, that there is no discrimination in hiring, based on race, skin colour, national origin, religion, age, disability, gender or sexual orientation. 

 

All kinds of forced labor obtained through the threat of physical abuse or physical abuse, or other forms of harassment as a means of violence to achieve discipline or control are prohibited. 

 

Training policy

We see in the education and training of our employees (young and old) the future for our society and our company's success. Well-trained employees are the backbone in order to respond to the growing demand in all areas. 

Health and occupational safety

Our company doctor (specialist in occupational medicine) conducts regular employee examinations, to prevent work related health disorders, occupational diseases or associated harms. This includes health 

counseling inclusive of vaccinations and health promotion including individual and group based trainings. Our extern specialist for occupational safety carries out inspections of the company on a regular basis. The results flow into the consulting and planning of the technical, organizational and personal occupational safety as well as accident prevention. 

 

Quality policy (incl. training and health / occupational safety) as PDF-Download 

 

Environmental Policy

Since the company is also committed to environmentally-relevant demands, we include, with equal importance, the protection of our environment along with the economic and social matters in all business decisions. The obligation to comply with all relevant environmental legislation is of course adhered to. Our goal is to gently and effectively utilize the resources used. 

 

Environmental effects of activities, products, and processes are assessed in order to avoid as much environmental damage as much as possible. For this purpose, we use the best available technology that is economically justifiable for us. To avoid accidents and negative impacts on the environment, active risk management is employed. We expect our contractors and suppliers to comply with our environmental standards. 

 

We strive for continuous improvement of the state of the environment and are open to ecologically-friendly alternative products and processes. The awareness of the responsibility to the environment of our employees will be supported on all levels through our information and education regarding ecological matters. Through our environmental management, which is certified according to DIN ISO 14001, we ensure that our actions are consistent with this policy and that any necessary corrections are initiated for aberrations. 

 

Environmental policy as PDF-Download 

Energy Policy

Since the manufacture of our products is very energy-intensive, we run many heating and cooling processes one after the other, and since available global resources are increasingly scarce, we also feel dedicated to the field of energy required to use the possibilities available to us in order to use energy in an efficient way that is also protective of the environment and climate and is within the bounds of our operations, and provided that it is possible for us to even gain energy. 

 

For this purpose, was an energy management system specifically set up according to DIN EN 50001, which has the responsibility to ensure that the company acts in accordance with this policy and puts the focus of the management on the company's efficient use of energy to manufacture our products. Through regular review and evaluation of this system, as a part of a continuos alaysis of our energy consumption, we want to ensure a continuing improvement of the energy performance. All employees are required to take an active role in this. Furthermore we want to support our intentions by buying energy efficient products and services and by the support of the development of energy efficient processes and facilities. 

 

We installed an interdisciplinary energy management team in our company under the chairmanship of an energy management representative. It is responsible to monitor and evaluate the continuing improvement 

of all energy relevant performances in the company. New goals and measures are developed annually within the energy management team, that are supposed to lead to a reduction of the energy consumption and increase the energy efficiency, which eventually leads to an overall reduction of green house gases. The compliance and achievement of the 

goals is ensured by team meetings that take place on a regular basis. By hiring an external engineering firm, we will allow our company to optimize the strategic use of energy and the need-based energy consumption. 

 

So that our desired way of working, goals, and aspirations can be achieved, the management committee has pledged to make available all necessary information and resources (personnel and financial).  

 

This energy policy is readily accessible to the public and can be seen in operation / requested or downloaded from our website. Additional data and information, however, is not communicated to the public. 

 

Energy policy

Unternehmenspolitik

Qualität und Tradition

Die Fa. Georg Lemke GmbH & Co. KG kann auf eine jahrzehntelange Tradition in der Herstellung von Marzipan- und Persipanrohmassen sowie Nougat, Füllmassen und Präparateartikeln zurückblicken. Seit der Gründung im Jahre 1902 hat sich unsere Firmenphilosophie entsprechend der steigenden Verantwortung gegenüber unseren Kunden und der Umwelt ständig weiterentwickelt. 

 

Das Unternehmen sieht seine Kunden als Mittelpunkt aller Bemühungen. Das Unternehmen bietet seinen Kunden einen Qualitätsstandard auf höchstem Niveau, so dass die Anforderungen aller Kunden erfüllt werden können. Unsere Top- Qualität spiegelt sich in der Zufriedenheit unserer Kunden wider und ist die wichtigste Voraussetzung für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg des Unternehmens. 

 

Transparenz innerhalb der Prozesse ist die Voraussetzung für eine reibungslose Fertigung und termingerechte Auslieferung des Produktes. Durch die Überwachung der Prozessparameter können negative Ereignisse minimiert bzw. eliminiert werden, so dass die auf der Basis der verschiedenen Rezepturen erstellten Spezifikationen eingehalten werden können. Ein schnelles Reagieren wirkt sich positiv auf die Kostenstruktur und letztendlich auf die Konkurrenzfähigkeit des Produktes aus.  

 

Ein wichtiger Aspekt ist das interdisziplinäre Zusammenwirken aller Abteilungen. Wir gestalten unsere Prozesse unter der Prämisse des optimalen Kundennutzens, analysieren unaufgefordert kritische Ereignisse, schaffen Lösungen und stimmen sie vor Installation der Lösung mit allen relevanten Stellen ab. Ziel aller Bemühungen ist die höchstmögliche Kundenzufriedenheit sowie die Senkung der Fehlleistungskosten, indem wir die Prozesse fortlaufend in allen Bereichen beherrschen und optimieren. 

 

Beim internationalen Einkauf unserer Rohstoffe versuchen wir ausschließlich mit solchen Lieferanten und Dienstleistern zusammen zu arbeiten, die sich verpflichten, auf menschliche, sichere und produktive Arbeitsdingungen zu achten. Grundsätzlich streben wir an, Lieferanten zu präferieren, die unter dem Aspekt der Nachhaltigkeit produzieren (=Nutzung eines regenerativen Systems). 

 

Im Einzelnen sollten folgende Kriterien erfüllt werden: 

  • die Einhaltung der gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Arbeitszeit und Lohnzahlungen

  • das Verbot der Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit sowie der Diskriminierung von Beschäftigten

  • Zahlung der gesetzlichen Leistungen bei Krankheit und Schwangerschaft

  • die Vertretung von Arbeitnehmerinteressen im Rahmen der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen

  • Arbeitsschutz- und Gesundheitsschutz, Notfallversorgung und die Einhaltung von Sicherheitsbestimmungen

  • Angemessene Hygienebestimmungen sowie eine menschenwürdige Unterbringung der Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter

  • das Verbot seelischer und körperlicher Disziplinierungen

  • die Bekanntgabe der Standards in der örtlichen Sprache

  • Berücksichtigung des ETI-Grundkodex (Ethical Trading Initiative)

  • Beachtung des ILO-Übereinkommen (internationale Arbeitsorganisation)

Der Nachhaltigkeitsgedanke umfasst sowohl ökologische, als auch ökonomische wie soziale Aspekte. Der ökonomische Bereich sollte sich nicht so sehr in der monetären Situation, sondern vielmehr in der Effizienz der Nutzung von Rohstoffen ausdrücken. 

Nachhaltige Entwicklung bedeutet vereinfacht, die Reduzierung des Ressourcenverbrauchs auf ein Niveau, welches die Regenerationsfähigkeit der Ressourcenpotentiale nicht überschreitet. Hierbei sollen die drei Zieldimensionen Ökologie, Ökonomie und Soziales miteinander verknüpft werden. 

 

Ein konkreter Schritt unsererseits ist der Erwerb der Mitgliedschaft bei der RSPO ( = Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil) und der damit verbundene Einkauf von zertifiziertem Palmöl und Palmkernöl. Nach der RSPO-Zertifizierung im Jahr 2012 wurde im Jahr 2014 mit der UTZ-Zertifizierung im Bereich Kakao ein weiterer Schritt getan, um sicherzustellen, dass die Rohstoffe tatsächlich auf eine verantwortungsbewusste Weise angebaut und geerntet werden. Nachhaltigkeit erfordert eine Abkehr von dem fossilen Stoffwechsel unserer Lebens- und Wirtschaftsweise. Bis Mitte des Jahrhunderts brauchen wir eine Reduktion des CO2-Ausstoßes um 80–90%. Erfolgreiche Wirtschaft ist zunehmend dadurch definiert, dass sie sparsam und effizient mit Ressourcen umgeht. Hierbei geht es auch um die Zukunftssicherung für künftige Generationen. 

 

Dem Gedanken der Produktsicherheit wird durch die sachgerechte Anwendung und ständige Pflege unseres HACCP- Konzeptes, sowie unseres Qualitätsmanagement- Systems, welches nach DIN EN ISO 9000 ff. aufgebaut wurde und seit 2009 nach IFS- Richtlinien zertifiziert geführt wird, nachgekommen. 

 

Das integrierte Krisenmanagement bzw. das Lemke Krisenhandbuch, in dem alle Verantwortlichkeiten und Kompetenzen geregelt sind, gewährleistet im Krisenfall  

zielgerichtetes Handeln. Ein möglicher Schaden, sowohl für den Kunden als  

auch für das eigene Unternehmen, kann so minimiert bzw. eliminiert werden. 

 

Alle Mitarbeiter unseres Unternehmens werden in den ständigen Prozess der  

Qualitätsverbesserung mit einbezogen. Dabei übernimmt die Managementebene die Vorbildfunktion, um alle Mitarbeiter im Prozess der Qualitätsverbesserung zu motivieren.  

 

Die Geschäftsleitung verpflichtet sich, dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass durch Information und Schulung die Möglichkeit geschaffen wird, dass das Qualitätsmanagement- System von jedem Mitarbeiter gelebt und bewusst im Arbeitsprozess umgesetzt wird. 

Die regelmäßige Überprüfung und Anpassung wird durch kontinuierliche Erfolgskontrollen umgesetzt. 

 

Die Akzeptanz ethischer Grundsätze gewährleistet, dass bei der Einstellung und Beschäftigung Rasse, Hautfarbe, Religionszugehörigkeit, Geschlecht, Alter, körperlicher Verfassung, nationaler Herkunft oder sexueller Ausrichtung nicht zur Diskriminierung führen. 

 

Alle Arten von Zwangsarbeit, sei es durch Androhung bzw. Anwendung von Gewalt oder andere Formen von Mobbing oder Missbrauch als Mittel von Gewalt zur Erlangung von Disziplin oder Kontrolle sind verboten. 

Ausbildungspolitik

Wir sehen in der Aus- und Weiterbildung unserer Mitarbeiter (jung und alt) die Zukunft für unsere Gesellschaft und unseren Unternehmenserfolg. Gut ausgebildete Mitarbeiter sind das Rückgrat, um auf ständig wachsende Anforderung in allen Bereichen reagieren zu können. 

Gesundheit und Arbeitssicherheit

Unser Betriebsarzt (Facharzt für Arbeitsmedizin) führt regelmäßig Mitarbeiteruntersuchungen durch, um präventiv arbeitsbezogene Gesundheitsstörungen, Berufskrankheiten sowie auslösende Schäden zu 

erkennen. Dazu gehören auch die Gesundheitsberatung einschließlich Impfungen, die betriebliche Gesundheitsförderung einschließlich der individuellen und gruppenbezogenen Schulung. Unsere externe Fachkraft für Arbeitssicherheit führt regelmäßig Betriebsbegehungen durch. Die Ergebnisse fließen in die Beratung und Planung des technischen, organisatorischen und personenbezogenen Arbeitsschutzes sowie der Unfallverhütung ein. 

 

Unternehmenspolitik (inkl. Ausbildung und Gesundheit / Arbeitssicherheit) als PDF-Download 

Umweltpolitik

Da sich das Unternehmen auch umweltrelevanten Erfordernissen verpflichtet fühlt, beziehen wir den Schutz unserer Umwelt gleichwertig mit rechtlichen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Belangen in sämtliche Unternehmensentscheidungen mit ein. Der Verpflichtung zur Einhaltung aller einschlägigen Umweltvorschriften wird selbstverständlich nachgekommen. Unser Ziel ist es die eingesetzten Ressourcen schonend und effektiv einzusetzen.  

 

Umweltauswirkungen von Tätigkeiten, Produkten und Prozessen werden beurteilt, um Umweltschäden damit soweit wie möglich zu vermeiden. Dazu wenden wir die beste verfügbare Technik an, die für uns wirtschaftlich vertretbar ist. Um Störfälle und Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt möglichst zu vermeiden, wird ein aktives Risikomanagement betrieben. Wir erwarten auch von unseren Vertragspartnern und Lieferanten die Einhaltung unseres Umweltstandards.  

 

Wir streben eine laufende Verbesserung der Umweltsituation an und stehen alternativen umweltfreundlichen Produkten und Verfahren offen gegenüber. Bei unseren Mitarbeitern wird auf allen Ebenen das Verantwortungsbewusstsein für die Umwelt durch Information und Ausbildung zu ökologischen Fragestellungen unterstützt. Durch unser Umweltmanagement, welches nach DIN ISO 14001 zertifiziert ist, stellen wir sicher, dass unser Handeln im Einklang mit dieser Umweltpolitik erfolgt und notwendige Korrekturen bei Abweichungen eingeleitet werden 

 

Umweltpolitik als PDF-Download 

Energiepolitik

Da die Herstellung unserer Produkte sehr energieintensiv ist, wir viele Erhitzungs- und Abkühlungsprozesse nacheinander fahren und die verfügbaren Welt- Ressourcen immer knapper werden, fühlen wir uns auch im Bereich Energie verpflichtet, die uns verfügbaren Möglichkeiten zu nutzen, um Energie effizient, umwelt- und klimaschonend innerhalb der Grundstücksgrenzen unseres Betriebes zu nutzen und sofern es uns möglich ist sogar eigenständig zu gewinnen.  

 

Hierfür wurde eigens ein Energiemanagementsystem nach DIN EN 50001 eingerichtet, welches alle energierelevanten Prozesse und Bereiche umfasst. Dieses hat dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass das Unternehmen im Sinne dieser Politik handelt und den Fokus in der Leitung des Unternehmens auf effizienten Einsatz von Energie zur Herstellung unserer Produkte legt. Durch die regelmäßige Überprüfung und Bewertung dieses Systems, im Zuge einer kontinuierlichen Analyse des Energieverbrauchs, soll eine weiterführende Eignung dessen und die Anpassung an aktuelle und kommende (rechtliche) Anforderungen, sowie eine kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Energieleistung gewährleistet werden.  

 

Im Unternehmen wurde ein interdisziplinäres Energieteam unter Vorsitz des berufenen Energiemanagementbeauftragten gebildet, welches als übergeordnete Instanz die kontinuierliche Verbesserung der energiebezogenen Leistung des Unternehmens steuern und überwachen soll. Im Rahmen des Energieteams werden jährlich neue Ziele und Maßnahmen erarbeitet, welche zu einer konkreten Reduzierung des Energieverbrauches bzw. Erhöhung der Energieeffizienz und damit insgesamt zu einer Reduzierung der Treibhausgase führen soll. Die Einhaltung und Erreichung dieser Ziele wird durch in regelmäßigen Abständen stattfindende Teamsitzungen gewährleistet. Die zusätzliche Beauftragung eines externen Ingenieurbüros soll das Unternehmen mittelfristig in die Lage versetzen, den strategischen Energieeinsatz und den tatsächlich bedarfsgerechten Verbrauch nachhaltig zu optimieren. 

 

Damit unsere angestrebte Arbeitsweise, unsere Ziele und Vorstellungen erreicht werden können, hat die Geschäftsleitung zugesichert, alle erforderlichen Informationen und Ressourcen (personell sowie finanziell) zur Verfügung zu stellen.  

 

Diese Energiepolitik ist jederzeit für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich, kann im Betrieb eingesehen/angefordert oder auf unserer Homepage heruntergeladen werden. Weiterführende Daten und Informationen werden jedoch nicht an die Öffentlichkeit kommuniziert. 

 

Energiepolitik als PDF-Download